The Crying!!

Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author

Ian1985
      Participant

Hi all

I’m new to the whole forum sharing so please bare with me but im interested to see if anyone has had similar experiences as myself.

2 years ago after 5 years of trying to have a child my wife gave birth to our son. Everyone asked me if I cried at the birth I said no, their reaction made me feel as though i was some sort of Physcopath.

As time went on I started to notice a anger building inside of me. I had no idea why. When ever my son would cry the noise would go through me. I would clench my jaw. If my wife went out I’d start to panic any noise he made or face he pulled I thought he’d start crying and I wouldn’t be able to help him.

One night my wife went out. My son had trapped wind he cried for 1 hour solid. My wife couldn’t help over the phone I was sweating panicking I got angry. Not at him at myself. It wasnt just anger it was rage. My blood was boiling I placed my son on the sofa I was shaking I walked into the kitchen and screamed. After that release I walked back into the room and attempted to deal with my son again.

I felt useless.

My wife came home within minutes settled him and he was his adorable self once again.

This happened more than once. Until I started to put my headphones on and turn my music up if he was having a melt down it helped massively.

Fast forward to present day we have a happy healthy 2 year old and now a 7 week old….my 2 year old cries but it’s a different type of cry. He only does it when he hurts himself….he can communicate now I can deal with it.

However my 7 week old just brought back all those feelings again. Frustration, helplessness in not being able to stop him crying. To take away what evers upsetting him.